Boston Tea Party Print Design Illustration

In 2011, Jeff Finley was invited to contribute to The Momentus Project illustrating a stylized print design piece about the Boston Tea Party. The project was curated by Evan Stremke, a designer at Planet Propaganda in Madison, Wisconsin. Evan was a featured designer at Weapons of Mass Creation Fest 2012. In fact, a few of the designers who contributed to this have since become involved with WMC Fest.

The Boston Tea Party

Passed by British Parliament in early 1773, the Tea Act had seen great opposition from Colonists because many believed it violated their rights to be taxed only by officials they had elected. As a display of of discontent, many colonists had successfully prevented the East India company from unloading tea shipments in their respective harbors. But in December of 1773, Boston colonists took it one step further and boarded ships containing the taxed tea, destroying all of it by throwing the loads overboard. This particular protest led to the 1774 Coercive Acts which shut down the East India Company until Britain was repaid for the destroyed tea. In response, colonists founded the First Continental Congress, the first step in the American Revolution.


The Boston Massacre – Chris DeLorenzo
The Boston Tea Party – Jeff Finley
The Revolutionary War – Jon Contino
The Declaration of Independence – Ellis Latham-Brown
The Ratification of the Constitution – Erik Hamline
The Louisiana Purchase – Emory Allen
The Lewis & Clark Expedition – Blake Suarez
The Burning of Washington – The Heads of State
The Trail of Tears – Matt Riley
The Battle of the Alamo – Matt Goold
The California Gold Rush –Riley Cran
The Dred Scott Case – Jay Schaul
The Battle of Antietam – Glenn Thomas
The Emancipation Proclamation – Richard Perez
The Last Spike – Eric Nyffeler
The Birth of National Parks – Dan Cassaro
The Wright Brothers Take Flight – Nate Utesch
The Industrial Revolution – Tyler Thompson
The Women’s Suffrage Movement – Kristina Collantes
The Prohibition Era – Cory Loven
The Stock Market Crash – Alex Perez
The New Deal – Daniel Kent
The Attack on Pearl Harbor – John Soat
The Creation of WWII Internment Camps – Chris Haines
The Invasion of Normandy – Adam Grason
The Bombing of Hiroshima – Chaz Russo
The Marshall Plan – Matt Braun
The McCarthyism Movement – Matt Lehman
The Bay of Pigs – Scotty Reifsnyder
The Civil Rights Movement – Jon Ashcroft
The Assassination of JFK – Evan Stremke
The Vietnam War – Tim Boelaars
The Moon Landing – Mark Weaver
The Watergate Scandal – Shed Labs
The Invention of the Internet – Bobby McKenna
The Challenger Explosion – Alex Griendling
The Fall of the Berlin Wall – Cory Schmitz
The Launch of the Hubble Telescope – Ryan Brinkerhoff
The Los Angeles Race Riots – Matt Stevens
The Oklahoma City Bombing – Scott Hill
The 2000 Presidential Election – Tad Carpenter
The Attacks of September 11, 2001 – Ted Quinn
The Authorization of the Patriot Act – Adam R Garcia
The Invasion of Iraq – Two Arms
The Capture of Saddam Hussein – Craig Henry
The Hurricane Katrina Disaster – Kendrick Kidd
The Gay Rights Movement – David Sizemore
The Election of Barack Obama – Tymn Armstrong
The Assassination of Osama Bin Laden – Brian Lindstrom
The End of the NASA Shuttle Program – Parliament of Owls